Schengen Visa Rules Relaxed for Nationals of Four Countries

The European Union has relaxed Schengen visa rules for nationals of Bahrain, India, Oman and Saudi Arabia.

Indian nationals residing in India are now eligible for a multi-entry, two-year Schengen visa, provided that the visa applicant has already obtained and lawfully used two Schengen visas within the preceding three years.

Additionally, Indian nationals who held the multiple-entry two-year visa can then apply for a five-year Schengen visa (provided their passport remains valid). Previously, the standard rules of the Visa Code applied. Separately, nationals from Bahrain, Oman and Saudi Arabia can now apply for a five-year, multi-entry Schengen visa.

This alert, for informational purposes only, was prepared by Fragomen and originally published here. If you have any questions, please contact us.