UK Electronic Travel Authorisation System

The United Kingdom government’s Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) scheme commenced operation in October 2023. Under the ETA system, all visa-free nationals will need to obtain digital permission to travel to or transit through the country.

The scheme is currently only applicable to Qatari nationals. From February 22, 2024, foreign nationals from Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates will also require an ETA to travel to the United Kingdom (which they will be able to apply for from February 1, 2024).

The scheme will be incrementally expanded to other nationalities throughout 2024 in phases.

Applications can be made online or via the ETA app, with applicants required to provide basic personal details, passport data, and a photograph. The application fee is GBP 10.

ETAs are valid for two years (unless the applicant’s passport expires sooner) and allow multiple trips to the UK. The ETA allows visa-free nationals to come to the UL for the purposes of tourism, business or short studies for up to six months (each visit). The granted permission lasts for two years.

View this information as a downloadable whitepaper

This alert and accompanying whitepaper are for informational purposes only.  If you have any questions, please contact us